Don’t Make Me Think – Revisited

In order to keep the fitness momentum on this blog in mind, but also fulfill an assignment for my advanced interactive reporting course, I decided to jog to the library (to get a workout in) but also to rent this wonderful little gem, written by Steve Krug.

IMG_6712.JPG

‘Don’t Make Me Think – Revisited’ is an easy read about how to use the web and mobile devices for your benefit. Krug uses multiple principles to describe techniques and he also provides advice on using websites and apps.

He begins with the first principle literally being “Don’t make me think”… I really enjoyed the fact that he used this principle to introduce the book. I also think that he explains it very effortlessly… (You know, not making me really have to think about it.) Krug says that audience members or viewers shouldn’t have to think about anything on your website. They shouldn’t have to second guess whether something is a link or not, and they shouldn’t have to search for things. He says that a good website should provide easy access to needed information and I absolutely agree. “When you’re creating a site, your job is to get rid of the question marks” wrote Krug. Another principle he discusses is that people don’t really read pages… they scan them. It taught me to make my website design intriguing, eye-appealing, and simple. We need to design from a scanners perspective. In chapter four, I learned about how users like mindless choices. After learning this, I realized I am absolutely guilty of it as well. Pro tip: clicking is fun and quick when websites make ‘clicking’ to your goal clear and easy. The book gets a little more serious on page 49….. “The art of writing for the web”…. Most of us have already learned the basics about omitting needless words in order to reduce the noise level of the page and to make the useful content more prominent. Unfortunately, you won’t find that in this post because this is a review, but I plan on working towards shorter sentences in web stories. Chapter 6 and 7 go into website navigation as well as the importance of your website’s home page. I really enjoyed reading both chapters, not only because they provided useful information but also because it’s not just a ‘beginner handbook’ on websites. I’ve had my own site for quite a while now and still found the reading useful. It included tips such as stating your websites identity right off the bat, adding a search box to the home page, making your content timely, and more. (A good tagline is also an important characteristic.) Overall, this book includes a ton of useful information on how to make your website simple, clear, and non-biased towards different types of web users. I really like how it also included comics and quotes at the top of some of the pages. The reading was helpful, beneficial for my website’s future, and made me grin here and there; thanks to the clever chapter titles.

Thanks Steve, for sharing both your website knowledge and humor. I’m glad you “gathered enough energy” to write this book. It was well worth the effort.

Leave a Reply

